New Year’s Blogolution!

2016.png


So 2016 is here and so are the unbearable ‘New year, new me’ Facebook posts. You may have noticed the new look I’ve gave the blog with updated thumbnails and a slightly changed logo. But don’t worry, it’s the same Ryan and he’s still watching films. I’m not one for new years resolutions however this year I have some great ideas for this blog, as well as some personal goals for myself.

For a start, I want to expand and improve my writing style. I feel that many of my reviews create a great discussion between the reader and myself, however I sometimes lack consistency and continuity within my writing as often I fail to discuss certain, more deeper, aspects of the films I review. My ‘Spectre’ review  was discussed in depth however, in a moment of joyful bliss, I failed to discuss the the aspects of that film which let it down and in a result I graded it much higher than I would have today.

I don’t just want to review films. I want broaden my blog with my political and cultural knowledge on film with a new series I’m deeming ‘Synopsis’. In ‘Synopsis’ we will discuss the political and cultural significance a film obtains over the audience. This may be discussing gender roles or cultural sensitisation in film. I look forward to sharing my knowledge and opinion on these subjects and vouch for you to share any ideas you have for issues you want me to discuss!

Screenwriting has been something that has continuously interested me as I strive for a future in the media industry. 2016 brings the chance for me to finally fulfil my goal of expressing my ideas onto paper. I’d like to update and share my screenplays and scripts on this blog in hopes of improving them over the course of time. I look forward to sharing my ideas!

I want to thank all my followers and readers for your commitment to my blog over 2015 and I wish you all a safe and happy 2016.

Leave a Reply

